The Harder Side of the Shoe

You may think from the title of this post that we are going to be discussing the sole of a shoe, as that is the harder side of the shoe, but you would be wrong. Some of you may have noticed the fierce shoe of the week. Each week I’ll post a new shoe which will be the inspiration for the week’s post. The Louboutin studded Prive pump you see is not only the latest addition to my personal collection, but also the perfect example of this week’s theme.

Note the shape of the shoe: the curvature of the side, femininity of the sweep to the peep toe, the ladylike roundness of the heel. There is no doubt that without the studs, this shoe would be the perfect staple black pump. And that is exactly what “being nice” is to people, the staple and standard that we fall back on. When someone screws us over we defy our instinct to tell them the truth: that we hope they suffer some grievous bodily harm, possibly while running away from the law. Instead, we say things like “I hope you find happiness” or “I’m so glad you’ve found someone who fits you.” AKA the staple black pump response.
Now note the studs… the cold, pointed metal firmly stamped into the subtle black leather. With these studs, the shoes are transformed into something harder and truer to our real nature. Rather than hiding our harder, darker side, we proclaim it through tough footwear. BUT, also note that the studs don’t detract from the original curvature and femininity of the shoe. It’s still there, it’s just not so nice. It says “no, I really do hope you have a crappy life,” as I, myself, recently said to a certain someone who had been dicking me around for 10 years (but that’s another story).

My friend commented to me that we say these nice things in some karmic hope that something good will happen to us. But does good actually happen? Do we really feel better for swallowing that negativity? I doubt it. After I told that nameless person how I really felt, a weight was lifted from me. I felt empowered. Now this is not to argue that we should be mean by default, but to express that rightness of saying something “wrong.” Just like, these shoes are not meant to be worn everyday, but on certain occasions need to walk out and shine.

3 responses to “The Harder Side of the Shoe

  1. I want to be the first to comment, just like Julie Powell’s mother was the first to comment on her blog–though I’m not mom (because that would be biologically impossible), I’m still one of the closest blood relatives you’ve got, so I’m commenting. This my comment. Hope you enjoyed it.

  2. Yay! Welcome to the blogosphere. Excellent first post, and I look forward to many, many more. I LOVE the shoes quotes. Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

